Generic Korean

How to Cook Ramen

Posted on: June 19, 2011

Or how to cook “ramyun.”  Supposedly I’m not a real Korean if I don’t use the Korean romanicized version of the word.  While no one outside of Korea gives a crap about some made up spelling controversy I do understand why one would want to differentiate between ramen (japanese) and ramyun (korean).  Simply put the Korean noodles generally tend to be packed with more spice compared to its Japanese counterpart.  So if I wanted to talk about Ichiban I’d probably spell it “ramen” but if I wanted to talk about Nong Shim, I’d spell it “ramyun.”

Just like onigiri aka rice balls aka samgak kimbap.  While onigiri (japanese) and samgak kimbap (korean) look exactly alike the Japanese traditionally fill their riceballs with pickled ume, salmon, and roe.  Koreans usually put kimchi, bulgogi, tuna, etc.  So if I was searching youtube videos for samgak kimbap I wouldn’t expect the person to be filling their rice balls with roe and pickles.  When I read comments like “omg that’s not korean that’s japanese  it’s onigiri you ignorant *insert expletive*” I think to myself no, its not Japanese.  While its origins are Japanese the fillings are typically Korean and therefore should rightfully be called samgak kimbap and not onigiri.  Wow I really have way too much time on my hands if I’m contemplating the thoughts of a youtube writer.

Okay, now that I’m done ranting on an irrelevant topic, this is the fastest way to cook 1-2 packets of ramyun.  I’ve only tried this with regular Samyang, Nongshim Shin and Nongshim Noguri but it seems to work.

Put water in a pot and add all the spice packets as well as the noodles.  Put the lid on and turn the heat on high.  When it rapidly boils open the lid and separate the noodles.  I usually grab the noodles with my chopsticks and pull them up out of the pot over and over again.  Why?  Because all the cool kids do it.  At this point cook for another 30 seconds to a minute depending on how soft you like your noodles.  You’re done.  Enjoy.

This is the fastest way to cook ramyun because you don’t have to wait for the water to boil.  Some people will wait until the water boils before putting their noodles in but then you’d have to wait another 3-5 minutes and who wants to wait for another 3-5 minutes?  Do you know how many youtube comments I can read in 3-5 minutes?!

 

1 Response to "How to Cook Ramen"

[…] ramyun.  I’ll totally help you make it Mr. Chang.  I mean I even know how to make the fastest ramyun on this part of the […]

Leave a Reply

