Generic Korean

Spicy Beef Soup Update

Posted on: May 10, 2011

So I finally made yook gae jang based on the recipe I posted up and it was delicious.  I didn’t have mung beans or gosari so I replaced it with just soy beans but it was still freaking good.

Although I have to say I added a few hot peppers, a bit of dashida (dried beef stock because the stock I made was a bit on the weak side), and cooked the final product for an hour.  Would I do it again?  Yes as my mom loved it so much she made me make another batch to take to work after dinner.  Except this time she showed me how people in the south make yook gae jang which included adding a spoonful of soybean paste.

I’m going to make something else from Best Cooking Recipes show now because everything they said about yook gae jang was on point.

Leave a Reply

